Skip to content

New Years and New Beers Resolutions

January 3, 2010

Welcome to 2010!

A new year is upon us!  With it comes  a chance to improve ourselves and  experience new things.  Aside from the usual work out more, eat healthier, and spend more time with friends and family resolutions I also have a list of resolutions for my beer passion.

First, I want to try more new beers this year than I have in previous years.  Here in Central Illinois I am lucky to have access to a wide array of craft beer thanks to stores like Friar Tuck and bars like Kelleher’s and Rhodell’s.  Unfortunately, breweries and brewpubs are few and far between.  Therefore, I hope to be visiting the places we do have  even more often to pick up something I haven’t tried or something I want to try again for the sake of Beer Epiphany.  I am going to branch out and try new styles and  stuff from breweries I’ve never heard of.

My next beer resolution is to share my passion with more of my friends.  As much as I love beer I can count the number of friends who love it as much on one hand.  I plan on spending more time with them at beer related activities and branching out and meeting new people to share my love of beer with.

This year I will travel to indulge in beer. As I previously mentioned, Central Illinois isn’t exactly a beer hot spot.  The only beer event I attended last year was Peoria International Beer Fest.  This was my first beer fest, and I loved it, but I could have attended quite a few more had I planned better.  I missed out on great nearby opportunities such as Dark Lord Day 2009, St. Louis Beer festival, and the 12 Beers of Christmas in Peoria, IL.  I shall not miss these events this time around!  Anyone interested in going  please feel free to contact me so we can plan something.

I shall learn the art of brewing.  That’s right.  I have put it off long enough and this year I WILL home brew.  I have Charlie Papazian’s The Complete Joy of Homebrewing and plan on using it this year.  I believe there is a homebrew shop just 45 minutes from where I live.

Beer Epiphany will continue to grow and I will continue to improve as a blogger, craft beer activist, and beer reviewer.  I want nothing more than for Beer Epiphany to one day become a place where thousands of beer enthusiasts can come to learn about beer and see what I have to think about it as well.  All my beers will be reviewed right here.  Each brewery I visit will earn it’s place on my blog and every event will get a dedicated post.   I have a ways to go, but I am dedicated and I hope to make 2010 the year Beer Epiphany is recognized as a quality beer blog!  I appreciate any comments or criticisms my readers might have that will help me get Beer Epiphany to the top.

So, there you have it.  A brief, but honest look at what I hope to accomplish this year in regards to beer.  I’m sure there’s many things I forgot to list, but that’s okay.  Part of the fun of beer is that you never really know what to expect until you take that first sip or walk through those brewpub doors.  I plan on relishing every minute I spend enjoying a quality brew with friends and hopefully chronicling all my exciting moments right here on Beer Epiphany.

Happy New Year!

From → Beer

One Comment
  1. Life is too short for bad beer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

