Skip to content

Saison Dupont. Simply Complex.

January 3, 2010

Saison Dupont has eluded me for a year.  I’m not even joking.  I have been wanting to try this one since the end of 2008 when I was torn between a Cantillon Gueze and Saison Dupont.  Well, when New Years Eve 2009 came around I was determined to try what Men’s Journal has dubbed “The Best Beer in the World.”  The little shelf tag has been boldly proclaiming this every time I visit my local Friar Tuck.  So, I made the decision to give this one a whirl to ring in 2010.  I had read somewhere awhile back that a saison was a great choice to ring in the New Year due to it having champagne-like characteristics.

Serving: 750ml corked bottle poured into an oversize wine glass

It pours straw yellow with quite a haze.  A nice white head stands firm atop this brew and it is super sticky.   It has a wonderful farmhouse (yeasty), fruity, aroma.  It bordered on skunky, but a pleasant kind of skunk.  It smelled fantastic.  The flavor consisted of little hops and it was tart and sour.  The body was light, the finish was clean, and very drinkable.  At the end of my notes on this one I wrote, “Simple in it’s complexity.”  Granted this was at 1 am, but I feel this is the best way to sum up Saison Dupont.  Simply complex.  There’s a ton going on, but it is not overwhelming.  Each flavor leads right into the next flavor.  There are plenty of aromas, but each one can be picked out.  Some beers do it all at once and it becomes hard to discern what one is actually smelling or tasting.  Not here.

Appearance: 4.2/5

Aroma: 4/5

Flavor: 4.5/5

Mouthfeel: 3.9/5

Drinkability: 4.0/5

Overall: 4.12/5

BeerAdvocate

RateBeer

Brasserie Dupont

From → Beer, Beer Reviews

2 Comments
  1. Erik permalink

    Wow, you make me want to try this one out myself

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

