Skip to content

Beer Drinker Down! Modern Warfare 2 and Beer Blogging Do Not Mix.

March 2, 2010

Modern Warfare 2 is an awesome, addicting, time-suck of a game.  You may have notice the frequency of my posts has been reduced as of late.  This is due to the awesomeness that is online multiplayer for Modern Warfare 2.  I could (and admittedly) have spent hours upon hours playing Modern Warfare 2 online for my Playstation 3.  I’m a big fan of “Domination” mode where you must capture and hold three flag locations.  If any of my devoted Beer Epiphany readers play Modern Warfare 2 for PS3 my screen name is SERmaniac.

So, just because I’ve been spending an unhealthy amount of time getting aced by 15-year-olds via multiplayer doesn’t mean I haven’t been drinking some brews as well.  Thanks to the native “Voice Memo” app for my iPhone I can keep track and take notes on all vanquished brews with ease.

Since I’m feeling quite under the weather today I’ll give you all a quick rundown of what I’ve had recently and what is on deck.

1) I’ve worked my way through 12 bottles of Michelob’s attempt at a Craft Wheat Beer Mixpack.  It’s got Shock Top, Hop Hound, Dunkelweiss, and Honey Wheat.  I’ll be doing those reviews in a 4-in-1 format.  There was one surprise of the bunch.  Can you guess which one it was?

2) I’ve always heard that most craft beer drinkers have one or two beers that they must keep on hand at all times.  Since I rarely have any given beer twice within 12 months I was having trouble wrapping my head around this notion.  I mean why have just one when there are so many to try?  Well, thanks to Duvel, the Belgian Strong Pale Ale, I now have a beer I feel I must have on hand at all times.  I’ve had three of the four bottles in my gift pack.  Look for a stellar review once I crack open the last stubby bottle of the devil of a Belgian.

3)  Bell’s Hopslam review is coming…just waiting for the right night to crack open my last bottle.

4) Some recent beers I’ve had and how I felt about them:

Wexford Irish Cream Ale: Closest thing to Guinness in terms of creaminess I’ve ever had.  Subtle flavors.  Great session beer.  It is the $6 beer+glass “Beer of the Month” for March at my local Irish Pub, Kellehers.

Lagunitas Hairy Eyeball: I don’t know if the name comes from this, but after I swallowed a mouthful of this stuff it felt like my mouth was covered in hair.  Creepy, but oh so unique.  I need to get my hands on a bottle and do a review of this.

Green Flash West Coast IPA: Hoppy goodness.

Left Hand 400 lb. Monkey IPA:  Didn’t seem to live up to the hype.

Rogue Santa’s Private Reserve:  Not an IPA, but you sure coulda fooled me.

Monks Cafe Flemish Sour Red Ale:  My first sour.  Wow, I liked it, but didn’t have a clue as to what I was tasting.  I’ll be trying more sours.

5) Upcoming full Beer Epiphany reviews:

-Great Divide Hecules DIPA

-Samuel Adam’s Nobel Pils

-Anchor Steam

-Southern Tier Raspberry Porter

-Ayinger Celebrator Doppelbock

-Mikkeller Beer Geek Breakfast

So, I apologize for dropping off the face of the Earth the past seven days.  I’ll be getting some much needed rest and as soon as I am at 100% you can expect another full beer experience here at Beer Epiphany.

From → Beer Rambling

One Comment
  1. How’d I miss this?! So you’re a fellow beer geek AND a fellow gamer. One of my favorite past times is to curl up with an awesome game and an equally awesome beer and waste an entire evening. Although I don’t consider it a waste.

    And I’m putting my money on the Michelob Dunkelweiss. Even though I haven’t tried any of those.

Leave a Reply

