Skip to content

Featured Beer Link #4: Brewer’s Association Guidelines Revised

April 6, 2010

You all probably thought I forgot about my “Featured Beer Link” agenda, didn’t you?  Admit it.  You thought, “Oh, here is some overzealous wannabe beer blogger who is in way over his head.”  Haha, well I’m hoping you didn’t think that because many of you are close friends of mine.  Shame on you.

Well, I didn’t forget.  I started a new job and the last few weeks have been extremely taxing mentally.  I haven’t blogged much, and a few of those were a sketchy at best.  Shout out to Erik for always calling me out on my flub-ups, typos, and generally not making sense.

However, I am proud to announce (as you notice in my most recent review) that Beer Epiphany is growing and even attracted the attention of Redhook Brewery out of Washington.  Now I know this practice is common amongst breweries and bloggers/podcasters, but I was very honored to have been chosen to receive a complimentary Redhook 8-4-1 Expedition Ale simply for doing what I love, blogging about craft beer.  I was envious of bloggers who received the kick-A Trebelhook+Glass a few months ago, and I never would have imagined I would be receiving something similar in the future.

Now Excuse me me while I go pour one of the last remaining bottles of Hopslam.

It is my full intention to keep Beer Epiphany running strong and growing into the future.  I’m supported by awesome fellow bloggers, websites, and the online beer community.  I’m still a beer novice after trying hundreds of different brews, but this blog is helping me to learn more each and every day.  Beer is my passion.

So, without further adieu, here is Beer Epiphany Featured Beer Link #4.

This weeks featured link is for a recent article posted by Beer Examiner Charlie Papazian (also of GABF and Brewers Association, and Craftbeer.com fame) referencing the 2010 updated 140 Beer Style Guidelines.  These guidelines are recommended reading material for anyone wishing to learn about craft beer or to expand their knowledge base further.  I know that when I’m sitting down to drink a Pale American Belgo-Style Ale I’d like to know what can be expected.  The guidelines aren’t as detailed as the BJCP guidelines, but theirs haven’t been updated since 2008 and a lot has changed since then.  I myself am I big proponent of new beer styles and extreme/unique/cinventive brews.  So, I was happy to see that  “black IPA” was added to the Brewers Association list this year.

The US craft beer scene is exploding right now, and you’ll be hard pressed to keep up with all the new announcements, but this lengthy list of styles in a great place to start.

LINK

140 Beer Style Guidelines revised by Brewers Association


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

